Essence 1.0 FTF Avatar
  1. OMG Issue

ESSENCE — Enhancements on Competencies and Competency level definition

  • Key: ESSENCE-160
  • Legacy Issue Number: 18870
  • Status: closed  
  • Source: Ivar Jacobson International ( Mr. Michael Striewe)
  • Summary:

    Problem to be solved: The definition of five generic competency levels in section 8.1.6 (pages 16 to 19) is not supported in that detail by the definition of the language elements in section 9.3.5 (pages 86 to 88). Mismatches are in particular:
    - Section 8.1.6 states “Each competency has five levels of achievement. These are standard across all the kernel competencies […]”, while section allows zero to many levels and does not enforce any standard instantiations.

    • Table 1 in section 8.1.6 summarizes the proposed competency levels in checklist style, while section does only allow free text properties for that purpose.

    Proposed solution: It is proposed to enhance section 9.3.5 as follows:

    • Change section 8.1.6 to say “across all competencies”
    • Add a clarifying note in section 9.3.5 that each tool claiming conformance to the standard must implement the kernel and therefore has to provide the standard instantiations for competencies as defined in table 1 in section 8.1.6. To enforce this partially via the language directly, change multiplicity on association “possibleLevel” in section from * to 5.
    • Add an association “checkListItem [*]” in section that targets model element “Checkpoint”. For architectural clearness, move this element from package “AlphaAndWorkProduct” to “Foundation”.
  • Reported: Essence 1.0b1 — Tue, 13 Aug 2013 04:00 GMT
  • Disposition: Deferred — Essence 1.0
  • Disposition Summary:
  • Updated: Fri, 6 Mar 2015 20:58 GMT